The Church of the Holy Trinity on Sviyazhsk Island is the only wooden monument preserved of all the 16th century architecture in the Volga region. The unique cultural and historical value of this object cannot be overstated. The church was built from hewed, larch logs a half arshin, or 28 inches, thick. In record-breaking time, the wood was cut in the Uglich forest and rafted using the Volga in the spring of 1551. The church itself was built in one day. Surprisingly, it is the only structure that has been preserved since that time. The Trinity Church is part of the St. John the Baptist Nunnery complex.
The church has been repeatedly renovated throughout its existence, which is more than 450 years. The monument's original appearance was restored in 2011, so now the Church looks almost the same as it did in 1551. The interior has remained almost unchanged. The amazing, austere beauty of the golden logs making up the walls, the wide floorboards, the massive doors and the wooden benches sitting against the walls of the refectory give the church some fireside comfort. The decorations of the Trinity Church include a very unique, four-tiered iconostasis consisting of icons placed on horizontal wooden transoms is in sharp contrast with the very modest appearance of the church. The ancient icons from the iconostasis in the Trinity Church are currently at the State Museum of the Fine Arts of the Republic of Tatarstan. There is an unpretentious-looking bench at the entrance to the church but, according to the local residents, it was used by Ivan the Terrible.
The Church was built by Prince Peter Serebryany-Obolensky's warriors and consecrated on May 17, 1551, the day of the Holy Trinity. It was in this church where the 22-year-old Czar Ivan the Terrible and his famous voivodes, Gorbatiy-Shuisky and Andrey Kurbsky, prayed before the last campaign against Kazan in 1552.
Ferry: From the river port of Kazan, the journey takes about two hours
Car: Take highway M7 towards Moscow and follow the signs leading toward Isacovo village until you reach a sign for Svijazhsk. The travel time is no longer than one hour.