The Cathedral of the Mother of God – Joy of All Who Sorrow is the last major construction on Sviyazhsk Island. It is located near the slope of the path down to the Sviyaga River. It is a part of the St. John the Baptist Nunnery complex. The height of the church without the cross is 32 meters, the length is 38 meters, and the width is 27 meters.
The big, four-pillar, cross-domed church was built in the neo-Byzantine, or pseudo-Byzantine, style with some elements of eclecticism. It majestically rises over the ancient monastic buildings. It is built from red brick. All the attention is focused on the façades with a mosaic stucco. Due to the abundance of light and its extraordinary height, the interior decoration of the church makes a strong impression. The acoustics in the Cathedral of the Mother of God – Joy of All Who Sorrow is unique. The four-tiered iconostasis and the walls painted with frescoes illustrating different scenes from the life of the Virgin create an inimitable image of the church. There is a magnificent flower garden planted around the church.
The cathedral was constructed between 1898-1906. The architect was Fyodor Malinovsky.
The church walls were painted in 1914 at the expense of the Moscow manufacturer Sergey Mechnikov. The exterior of the church has hardly changed since its construction, but the oil paintings on the inside walls are almost completely lost. The cathedral was closed in 1919 and reopened after its restoration only on October 18, 2014.
Ferry: From the river port of Kazan, the journey takes about two hours
Car: Take highway M7 towards Moscow and follow the signs leading toward Isacovo village until you reach a sign for Svijazhsk. The travel time is not longer than one hour.