The Svyato-Uspensky (Holy Dormition) Zilantov monastery is the oldest surviving male monastery in the Volga region. It was founded by Ivan IV, also known as Ivan the Terrible, on the same day he captured Kazan, on October 15, 1552, for the purpose of everlasting remembrance of fallen soldiers. The monastery is located on the top of a hill, dubbed Zilantov (Snake) Mountain, with breathtaking views of the surrounding area. One can see the golden domes of the Holy Dormition Zilantov from anywhere. Today, this most valuable architectural monument is situated in the Kirovsky district of Kazan, two kilometers south of the Kazan Kremlin. Now the monastery has been turned into a convent.
The ensemble of the convent acquired its present form in the 17th century. Today it includes the Holy Dormition Cathedral built in 1625, the church in the name of Metropolitan Alexy built in 1720, as well as residential and utility buildings. The convent territory also houses a church shop, a Sunday school, a library, a dining hall, as well as a pilgrim house. The convent is surrounded by stone walls, making it look like an impregnable fortress.
Originally, the convent was on the hill where the Church of the Holy Face of Christ the Savior now stands. However, during the flood period, the hill was regularly flooded. In 1569, the convent was moved to Zilantov Mountain, named after the mythical creature Zilant, a caudate and winged dragon, which is a symbol of Kazan. In 1920 the convent was closed and it came back to life only in 1998.
Bus numbers: 10, 44, 45, 49, 53, 63, or 72 to the Lnokombinat (Cotton Factory) stop or the Pervoye Maya (May the 1st) stop
Bus number 30 until the stop named Telekompaniya Variant (Variant TV Company)
Trolleybus number 10 to the Lnokombinat (Cotton Factory) stop or the Pervoye Maya (May the 1st) stop
Commuter Rail: Arrive at the Admiralteiskaya Sloboda (Admiralteisky Settlement) station