The University is not just an educational institution, but a part of an important stratum of Russian historic and cultural heritage. Within the two hundred years of its history, the University campus grew into a proper architectural complex: new buildings, wings and even closets were constructed regularly. However, not one of the new buildings can compare to the main campus in the center of Kazan, located along Kremlevskaya Street.
The only thing that is comparable to the architectural grandeur of Kazan University is its scholar schools, which have nowadays won international acclaim. The scholarly traditions of Kazan University were established at the time when famous mathematician and founder of non-Euclidean geometry Nikolai Ivanovich Lobachevsky was in office as the rector. This way, step by step, the University scholars created an image of Kazan in the eyes of the world scientific community as a city of high culture and big science.
Kazan University is the only university of Russia with a unique variety of multifield museums. This “blossom of museums” was beginning to be set up as early as in 1804. More than a century ago the Parlor of Natural History and the Parlor of Minerals were opened – later they set the stage for the present-day museums of geology, zoology and botany. In 1815 it became clear that museums of ethnography and architecture would be opened at the University as well. For the next fifty years the key exhibits were collected, and in 1863 the museum of Kazan chemistry school was opened in the former Aleksandr Butlerov’s study.
In 1948 the University’s museum of history was opened. It began with a small Memorial space, and currently a large collection of worldwide importance is available. KFU’s museums have an international status. Information on their holdings is registered in international catalogues and reference books. Particularly important is that the exhibits do not just lie on the shelves collecting dust, but are abundantly used in education, research and cultural activities.