7 road trip destinations for those who want to discover Tatarstan by car

Traveling around Tatarstan is always an unforgettable adventure, especially if you’ve arrived by, or plan on renting a car. From ancient caves and magic fields to fishing and inspiring landscapes: we’ve compiled a short guide for those who want to find out some of the best road trip and camping destinations around Tatarstan.

Author — Lola Malova

85 km
distance from Kazan

Spin fishing and green fields in the Sorochi Mountains

Rybno-Sloboda region

As you travel along the P239 highway, just before the 14 metre Kama river crossing, take the turn off to the Sorochi Mountains. It’s worth it to go here simply to visit the untouched nature of the Volga region. At the earliest temperature rises after the cold winter, fishermen come from all over the Kama region, and lovers of outdoor recreation like to set up camp right on the river banks. Let's be honest: fishing here is unpredictable, but in Kama river, you might find carp, perch, pike, pike perch and other kinds of fish, which make for a great fish soup, cooked at your camp site. If you get bored camping, you can always head out towards civilization to the recreation centre “Sorochi Gory” with guest houses, a sauna, and sporting grounds. From here, you can also join one of the organized fishing or hunting group trips.

107 km
distance from Kazan

Yurievskaya Cave

Kamsko-Ustinsky district

The kilometre-long cave in the south of Tatarstan is accessible to all fans of speleology. The entrance to it is inconspicuous: in the Bogorodsk Mountains, overgrown with trees resembling a jungle, there is a small grotto - this is the starting point of the descent. The cave consists of several halls - from the ‘Silver’ one, covered in gypsum deposits, to the ‘Grotto of Rains’ containing stalagmites. Yurievskaya Cave is like a museum, where the exhibits are its geological features. Inside, you’ll find a range of many interesting things. For example, do not be surprised when you find yourself inside a room with a door and window – this is the ‘Professor's Lodge’, or when you come across the so-called ‘Castle of Horrors’ which contains a real knackery. Further along the route there is a baboons room, as well as others – ‘Kamerton’, ‘Library’, ‘Flounder’, ‘Candle’ and ‘Organ pipes’, some of which you will need to crawl to reach. We advise visitors to take special care and bring some of the essentials for your trip such as torches, old clothes you wouldn’t mind getting dirty and boots. Yurievskaya Cave is a great opportunity to overcome your fears and enjoy nature. It is not recommended to spend the night in the cave, but you can camp out and build a fire (be sure to tidy up after your stay) in the nearest neighbourhoods.

35 km
distance from Kazan

Sviyazhskiye Kholmy

Savino Village

The ‘Sviyazhskiye Kholmy’ ski resort, which is an hour's drive from Kazan along the M7 highway, becomes even more charming in summer. Instead of snowy mountains, you’ll find green fields and hills, from which an excellent view of the merging of the Volga, Sviyaga and Sulitsa rivers opens up. In terms of picturesqueness, this place is not inferior to the Swiss Alps, which is why it becomes the main subject of inspiration for local artists and photographers, as well as a popular destination for photo shoots. The entertainment complex is open all year round and offers guests over 100 pine chalets, a golf course, a shooting range and opportunities to recharge your health in the beautiful surroundings. If you prefer a camping getaway, set up a tent a little further down from the ski resort, on the bank of the Sviyaga River, and go fishing. The local sunsets will definitely not leave you indifferent, as the sun here sets directly into the river.

20 km
distance from Kazan

Miraculous springs at the Anisyanyh Gryadkah

Vysokogorsky district

You can get to the famous springs from Kazan not only by car, but even by bicycle. Anisya was a woman who lived here before the revolution and devoted herself to serving God. She helped travelers, fed beggars and orphans, and grew vegetables in her garden. Now on the site where her house once stood, a small handmade wooden staircase leads to the clock tower which has been built in its place, equipped with two spring baths and Anisya’s grave. They say that the water in this place is sacred, and the heat comes from the earth, which heals all diseases. You’ll see the nearby trees have ribbons tied to its branches - visitors believe in the sanctity of this place and regularly come to Anisya with requests and prayers, as they tie a ribbon around branches. The Kazanka river flows nearby, which looks more like a stream, surrounded by the open meadows, glades, and thickets of trees which shelter visitors from the scorching sun in summer. You can set up a tent in the forest or on the open meadow. The only thing that remains is your visit here to come and see the magic of this place for yourself.

113 km
distance from Kazan

Gypsum Galleries

Kamsko-Ustinsky district

A road trip through Tatarstan cannot be complete without visiting the picturesque Kamskoye Ustye. On its banks you’ll find nature’s true treasure - gypsum tunnels. Inside await labyrinths of gypsum deposits, caves filled with water, and wide passages, which make for spectacular photos. The tunnel miners are still active here, so you will see their tools, trailers and wooden props along the walls. In the past, serfs, runaway criminals and handcuffed convicts worked and mined within these walls. As such, there are various legends among tourists and speleologists about the spirits and ghosts inhabiting these mines.

240 km
distance from Kazan

Holy waterfalls in Krasniy Kluch

Nizhnekamsk

In order to see a real waterfall, head over to Krasniy Kluch. For over 400 years, this protected area has acquired legends and beliefs about itself, therefore, like all similar shrines, the surrounding trees are decorated with ribbons tied by visitors making a wish. The spring ‘Krasniy Kluch’ is picturesque and forms a cascade of waterfalls on the mountainside. On the other side of it is an enchanting landscape with views of the Kama River and the arboretum. In the past, this elevated forested area used to belong to the Staheev family of merchants who planted the fir trees, blue fir trees and other shrubs which you can see today. In the evenings, the trees and spring are illuminated with green and blue lights. Despite the surrounding beauty, it is not worthwhile to camp near the waterfall, so opt to put up your tent at the nearby ‘Dubki’ resort, where you can also ride a catamaran and even shoot in a shooting range under the supervision of an experienced instructor.

140 km
distance from Kazan

Ancient city ruins on Dzhuketau Mountain

Chistopol

What was once one of the major urban centres of the Volga Bolgar now looks like a mountain of ruins. This used to be the centre of the city with steep slopes on the banks of the Kama river. To this day, remains of fragments of the Bolgar buildings, cemeteries, necropolises and settlements can be found at the site. All around are moats and ravines, which are now overgrown with grass. On the territory of Dzhuketau, numerous items of the past have been found - coins of the times of the Golden Horde, fragments of ancient pottery and other everyday household items. Having disappeared in the 15th century, the city has left only memories of its greatness among the untouched beauty of the Volga region.

Routes

Popular among tourists

Find out the cost of tickets to Kazan

7 идей для тех, кто путешествует по Татарстану на машине

3 июля 2018
Путешествие по Татарстану — это всегда незабываемые приключения, особенно, если вы приехали сюда на автомобиле. Древние пещеры, волшебные грядки, рыбалка и вдохновляющие пейзажи: мы составили краткий гид для тех, кто захотел взять палатку и отправиться изучать Татарстан самостоятельно.

Автор — Лола Малова

85 км
расстояние от Казани

Спиннинг и зеленые поля в Сорочьих Горах

Рыбно-Слободский район

Двигаясь по трассе Р239, не доезжайте до 14-метровой переправы через реку Каму, а сворачивайте в Сорочьи горы. Ехать сюда стоит, чтобы посмотреть на нетронутую природу Поволжья. С появлением на улице стабильного плюса сюда съезжаются рыбаки со всего прикамья, а любители отдыха на свежем воздухе разбивают палатки и ночуют прямо на берегу реки. Скажем честно: рыбалка в этом месте непредсказуема, но в Каме водятся сазаны, окуни, щуки, судаки и другие виды рыбы, из которой на берегу варят вкусную уху. Если отдых в палатке надоест, отправляйтесь за благами цивилизации на базу отдыха «Сорочьи горы» с домиками, баней, спортивными площадками. Тут же организуют групповые выезды на рыбалку и охоту.



107 км
расстояние от Казани

Юрьевская пещера

Камско-Устьинский район

Километровая пещера на юге Татарстана доступна для посещения всем любителям спелеологии. Вход в неё неприметный: в Богородских горах, заросших словно джунгли, есть небольшой грот — именно там и находится спуск. Пещера состоит из нескольких залов — от Серебряного, названного так из-за гипсовых залежей, до «Грота дождей» со сталагмитами. Юрьевская пещера — будто музей, где экспонатами являются геологические особенности местности. Внутри много интересного: не удивляйтесь, когда попадете в комнату с окном и дверью — это «Домик профессора» или так называемый «Замок ужасов» с настоящей шкуродерней. Далее по маршруту зал бабуинов, «Камертон», «Библиотека», «Камбала», «Свеча» и «Органные трубы», до которых придётся добираться на четвереньках и даже ползком. Советуем позаботиться о спецодежде — берите фонари, старые вещи и сапоги. Юрьевская пещера — хорошая возможность бросить вызов своим страхам и насладиться природой. Ночевать в пещере не рекомендуем, зато развести костер (и обязательно прибрать за собой после стоянки) можно в ближайших окрестностях.

35 км
расстояние от Казани

«Свияжские холмы»

Деревня Савино

Летом горнолыжный курорт «Свияжские холмы», который находится в часе езды от Казани по трассе М7, приобретает еще больше очарования. Вместо снежных гор — зеленые поля и возвышенности, с которых открывается отличный вид на слияние Волги, Свияги и Сулицы. По живописности это место ничуть не уступает Альпам, оттого и становится главным предметом вдохновения местных художников и фотографов, а также популярной площадкой для фотосессий. Развлекательный комплекс работает круглый год и предлагает гостям более 100 сосновых шале, поле для гольфа, стрельбище и возможности для оздоровления. Если вы предпочитаете полностью отдаться походным условиям, разбейте палатку чуть дальше горнолыжной базы, на берегу реки Свияги, и отправляйтесь рыбачить. Местные закаты точно не оставят вас равнодушным, ведь солнце здесь словно опускается в реку.



20 км
расстояние от Казани

Чудодейственные источники на Анисьиных грядках

Высокогорский район

До знаменитых Анисьиных грядок из Казани можно добраться не только на автомобиле, но даже на велосипеде. Анисья — это женщина, которая жила здесь до революции и посвятила себя служению богу. Она помогала путникам, кормила нищих и сирот, выращивая овощи на своем огороде. Сейчас на месте дома Анисьи возвели небольшую часовню, к которой ведет небольшая самодельная деревянная лестница, оборудовали две купальни с родником и построили могилу богослужительницы. Говорят, что вода в этом месте святая, а из земли идёт тепло, которое лечит все болезни. На деревьях повязаны ленточки — приезжие верят в святость места и регулярно приходят к Анисье с просьбами и молитвами. Неподалеку течёт река Казанка, больше похожая на ручей, окружают Анисьины грядки открытые поляны, просеки и гущи деревьев, в которых можно спрятаться от палящего солнца. При желании палатку можно поставить в лесной чаще или на открытой опушке. Осталось только приехать и убедиться в волшебстве этих мест.



113 км
расстояние от Казани

Гипсовые штольни

Камско-Устьинский район

Автомобильное путешествие по Татарстану не состоится без посещения живописного Камского Устья. На его берегу разместились настоящие природные сокровища — гипсовые штольни. Внутри вас ждут лабиринты гипсовых месторождений, пещеры, наполненные водой, и широкие проходы, где получаются захватывающие снимки. Месторождение действующее, поэтому вы увидите рабочие инструменты, вагончики и деревянные подпорки вдоль стен. В прошлом в штольнях работали крепостные крестьяне, беглые преступники и каторжане, которых приковывали наручниками. Поэтому среди туристов и спелеологов ходят легенды о духах и призраках, населяющих эти шахты.

240 км
расстояние от Казани

Святые водопады в Красном ключе

Нижнекамск

Чтобы увидеть настоящий водопад, отправляйтесь в Красный Ключ. За 400 лет эта заповедная зона обросла легендами и поверьями, поэтому, как и во всех подобных святынях, окрестные деревья украшают лентами желаний. Родник «Красный Ключ» живописен и образует целый каскад водопадов на склоне горы. По другую сторону от него — воодушевляющий пейзаж с видами на реку Каму и дендрарий. В прошлом на этом возвышенном, заросшим лесом месте находились земли купцов Стахеевых. Благодаря им здесь появились пихты, высокие голубые ели и кустарники. По вечерам деревья и родник подсвечивают зелёными и голубыми огнями. Несмотря на окружающую красоту, разбивать палатку около водопада не стоит. Зато совсем недалеко находится база отдыха «Дубки», где можно переночевать в палатке, покататься на катамаране и даже пострелять в тире под присмотром опытного инструктора.
140 км
расстояние от Казани

Останки древнего города на горе Джукетау

Чистополь

Когда-то один из крупных городских центров Волжской Булгарии сейчас выглядит как гора с развалинами. Это центр города с крутыми склонами на берегу реки Камы. На месте по сей день остаются фрагменты булгарских построек, могильники, некрополи и селища. Вокруг простираются рвы и овраги, заросшие травой. На территории Джукетау находят монеты времен Золотой Орды, черепки древней посуды и другие предметы быта. Исчезнув в XV веке, город оставил только воспоминания о своем величии и нетронутые цивилизацией красоты Поволжья.

Фото: Lumos и Geometria Volga для Visit Tatarstan, Владислав Кушнеров

Маршруты

Популярные среди туристов

Узнайте стоимость билетов до Казани