Echpochmak, chak-chak and koymak. Tatar Cuisine in 10 Main Courses

5 june 2018
The best way to get to know Tatarstan is through the local cuisine. Familiarize yourself with our round up of the Republic’s gastronomic treasures, which contain the national spirit

Author — Dinara Valeeva

Echpochmak

Everyone goes crazy for the rosy triangular pie, starting from the time of the nomadic Turkic tribes. Back then, the echpochmak was a convenient way to satisfy the nomads’ hunger. Today it has become a symbol of Tatar cuisine and the identity of national happiness, in honour of which sculptures, films and online memes have been dedicated to. Under the outer of the soft dough, “weaved” in plaits and smeared with egg yolk, hides a filling of beef, lamb or goose meat chopped into cubes, mixed with potatoes and onions. There’s something special about eating these pies straight out of the oven, washing them down with some hot broth.

Gubadia

A large round pie, reminiscent of the affectionate Tatarstan sun is an obligatory participant in any “tabyn” (“festive table” in Tatar). Nourishing and as sweet as a dream about the next forthcoming trip to Tatarstan, the filling of the pie is multi-layered. The bottom of the gubadia is covered with the ginger-coloured cottage cheese cooked in malted milk, covered by rice, mixed in with honey raisins and chopped egg.

Chak-chak

Fried pieces of soft dough, wrapped in honey – this is the main national dessert and a true treasure of Tatar cuisine. Chak-chak can come with numerous additions - chocolate, nuts, sesame seeds – the dessert’s versatility knows no bounds. The locals took their love of chak-chak to unprecedented heights when in honour of the 1,000th anniversary of Kazan in 2005, a chak-chak weighing 1,000kg spanning across a 13,266 square metre area was created in the city. Chak-chak flies off store shelves, courtesy of Tatarstan’s guests to be passed on as gifts and souvenirs every year. Indeed, what could be better than local food?

Zur Belish

Zur Belish is the “big guns” of national cuisine - the king of Tatar feasts. Inside a dough outer, pieces of beef, lamb, potatoes, onions and broth are slow cooked for at least two hours. There is a precise serving strategy for an authentic zur belish: first the dough top is cut around its circumference and its parts are given to the guests along with the filling. Then, the rest of the pie’s remaining crust that’s been soaked by the juices and broth is divided.

Peremyach

This is Tatar cuisine’s most simple and common pie: a handful of beef or lamb mince with chopped onions, hidden inside a delicious dough, deep-fried to perfection.

Bauyrsak

A devoted ally of tea, ayran and katyk. One of the most famous Tatar sweets is prepared using flour, butter and eggs as its base. The rolled out ropes of dough are cut into small pieces, which are then deep-fried. Bauyrsak is served chilled, lightly powdered with icing sugar.

Elesh

This round Tatar patty, externally resembles a smaller version of a zur belish. But under the golden, like the crescents of Kul Sharif, dough, made using sour cream as a base, hides a large portion of chicken filling mixed with potatoes, onions, butter and spices. The elesh meat is cooked in its own broth, so the finished pie is very juicy and satisfying.

Kystyby

A toasted crunchy pancake, hugging a nourishing filling - mashed potatoes or millet porridge – the Tatar version of Mexican tacos or Greek gyros. Kystyby (or “kuzikmek”) is one of the most popular dishes of national cuisine, which local gastro-enthusiasts have started to adapt in recent years. Inside menus of local cafes and restaurants, quite often you might see kystyby made with meat cutlets, fish or vegetables. No matter what, nothing compares to the classic version of the original mashed potato filling inside a soft pancake, generously oiled with butter.

Koymak

These pikelets can only be described through happy feelings – they are like the light breeze on a hot summer’s day, the weightlessness of a down-feather bed, a child’s rosy cheeks and the warmth of a beloved grandmother’s hands, the hissing of oil in a stone stove and a milk moustache after taking a drink from a clay jug. Koymak are most delicious when eaten with strawberry jam or thick country sour cream. “Temle buylsyn!” (how the Tatars say “Bon Appetite!”).

Talkysh Kaleve

A sweet dessert, that has stood the test of time throughout centuries. The original recipe of talkysh kaleve was brought to the Kazan county by Turkish captive, and the head of the Safiullin family - Borhan-Babai in the 19th century. He invented a new Tatar dessert based on existing eastern desserts of that time. The pyramid of sugar and honey threads that melts in your mouth is the national dessert that is the most time consuming to prepare. The welded honey syrup is pulled until it emits a certain sound, and its colour remains brown, without turning beige. The mass is then mixed with flour and oil, stretched out into a fine thread and then put into molds.

Where you could taste tatar food

Routes

Popular among tourists

Find out the cost of tickets to Kazan

Эчпочмак, чак-чак, коймак. Татарская кухня в 10 главных блюдах

Эчпочмак, чак-чак, коймак. Татарская кухня в 10 главных блюдах

5 июня 2018
Лучший способ узнать Татарстан ближе — познакомиться с местной кухней. Проводим краткий экскурс по гастрономической сокровищнице республики и рассказываем о еде, в которой спрятан национальный дух

Автор — Динара Валеева

Эчпочмак

Румяный треугольный пирожок сводит с ума всех, кто его попробует, начиная со времён кочевых тюркских племён. Тогда эчпочмак был удобным способом утолить голод странников. Сегодня же это символ татарской кухни и тождество национального счастья, которому посвящают скульптуры, фильмы и смешные картинки в интернете. Под покровом упругого теста, «связанного» косичками и смазанного яичным желтком, скрываются порубленные кубиками говядина, баранина или мясо гуся вперемешку с картофелем и репчатым луком. Особым шиком считается съесть эчпочмаки с пылу с жару, запивая их горячим бульоном.

Губадия

Большой круглый пирог, напоминающий ласковое татарстанское солнце, — обязательный участник табына (с татарского — «праздничного стола»). Сытный словно молоко матери, сладкий как грёзы о предстоящей поездке в Татарстан. Начинка у пирога сложносочиненная. Дно губадии устилает корт — рыжего цвета уваренный в топленом молоке творог. А укрывает его отварной рис, заигрывающий с медовым изюмом и мелко порубленным яйцом.

Чак-чак

Кусочки мягкого теста, обжаренные во фритюре и укутанные мёдом, — главная национальная сладость и золото татарской кухни. С шоколадом, орехами, кунжутом — фантазий на тему чак-чака не счесть. Местные жители возносят его до невиданных высот: в честь 1000-летия Казани в 2005 году в городе приготовили сладость весом в 1000 кг и площадью в 13 266 квадратных метров. Гости Татарстана разбирают его теми же тоннами на подарки и сувениры. И вправду, что может быть лучше местной еды?

Зур бэлиш

Тяжелая артиллерия национальной кухни и царь татарских застолий. В казане из теста в течение двух часов томятся кусочки говядины, баранины, картофеля, лука и бульон. Готовый зур бэлиш едят не абы как: сначала по окружности срезают «крышечку» — её части отдают гостям вместе с начинкой. А затем пирог прорезают до дна, раздавая каждому пропитанную соками и бульоном корочку.

Перемяч

Самый простой и демократичный пирожок татарской кухни. Горстку говяжьего или бараньего фарша с порубленным луком прячут под шатром из защипанного теста, а после отправляют жариться во фритюре.

Баурсак

Преданный союзник чая, айрана и катыка. Одну из самых известных татарских сладостей готовят на основе муки, масла и яиц. Жгуты из крутого теста разрезают на «орешки», которые затем обжаривают во фритюре. Баурсак подают охлажденным, слегка припорошив сахарной пудрой.

Элеш

Этот круглый татарский пирожок внешне напоминает уменьшенную копию зур бэлиша. Но под золотистым, словно полумесяцы Кул-Шарифа, тестом на основе сметаны прячется крупно порубленное куриное филе вперемешку с картофелем, луком, сливочным маслом и специями. Мясо в элеше готовится в собственном соку, поэтому пирожок получается очень сочным и сытным.

Кыстыбый

Поджаренная хрусткая лепешка, обнимающая начинку — картофельное пюре или пшённую кашу — татарский ответ мексиканскому тако и греческому гиросу. Кыстыбый (или кузикмэк) — одно из самых популярных блюд национальной кухни, которое местные гастроэнтузиасты часто переосмысляют в последние годы. В меню локальных кафе и ресторанов можно встретить кыстыбый с мясными котлетами, рыбой или овощами. Но мы-то знаем, что с классической версией лепешки, обильно смазанной сливочным маслом, ничего не сравнится.

Коймак

Эти оладушки — легкое дуновение летнего ветра и невесомость пуховой перины, румянец на детских щеках и тепло рук любимой бабушки, шипение масла в каменной печке и «усы» от выпитого из глиняной крынки молока. Коймак вкуснее всего есть с земляничным вареньем или густой деревенской сметаной. Тэмле булсын! (так татары желают приятного аппетита)

Талкыш калеве

Сладость, проверенная веками. Рецепт талкыш калеве в XIX веке в Казанскую губернию из турецкого плена привёз основатель рода Сафиуллиных Борхан-бабай — он придумал новую татарскую сладость на основе существовавших восточных. Тающие во рту пирамидки из сахарно-медовых нитей — самый трудоёмкий в приготовлении национальный десерт. Сваренный медовый сироп тянут до тех пор, пока он не будет издавать определенный звук, а его цвет из коричневого не перейдёт в пшеничный. Затем массу смешивают с мукой и маслом, растягивают на тончайшие волокна и забивают в формочки.

Где пробовать татарские блюда

Фото: Lumos для Visit Tatarstan

Маршруты

Популярные среди туристов

Узнайте стоимость билетов до Казани