The application we offer shows the most interesting cafes and museums and also can provide up to 25% off

Discount for cafes and museums in Kazan

Download application

In the footsteps of great writers and poets. A guide to literary Tatarstan

The mansion where Leo Tolstoy spent his student years, the desk at which Pushkin worked, the last refuge of Marina Tsvetaeva: Tatarstan very dearly holds on to the memory of the geniuses who have visited this land. Here we will tell you about the region that inspired poets, tested the character of writers and became a place of drama for writers who later went on to become world classics.

Author — Ivan Banderov

Kazan

Alexander Herzen

political writer, philosopher and founder of the Free Russian Printing Office in London in 1853

“The veiled faces of the Tatar women, the high cheekbones of their husbands, the mosques of true believers standing side by side with the churches of the Orthodox faith – it all reminds one of the East” wrote Alexander Herzen about his unplanned visit to Kazan in 1835, and later added: “The significance of Kazan is very great: it is where two worlds meet. It has two origins, the West and the East, and you can see them at every crossroad; here they lived in amity as a result of continuous interaction and began to create something quite original.” 

Kazan has two beginnings: the West and the East, and you can see them at every crossroad Alexander Herzen
Musa Dzhalil

Tatar poet and author of the famous “Moabit Notebook” - a collection of poems written during his time in fascist captivity

The meeting of the two worlds, which the Russian writer magnificently described, continues. You can easily see the beauty of this union just by looking at the streets of Kazan through the eyes of the writer and visiting the literary “places of power” of Tatarstan.

A visit to the Republic most often begins with Kazan, and a visit to the capital of Tatarstan begins with the Kremlin. Right outside the Spassky Tower stands a monument to the Tatar poet and hero of the Soviet Union - Musa Dzhalil. During World War II, the writer was drafted into the Red Army and was subsequently seriously wounded. He was taken prisoner, where he managed to become a member of an underground group, arranging prisoner escapes.

For you, oh my homeland, For the great truth I'm dying! Musa Dzhalil

During his time in the concentration camp, Musa Dzhalil wrote a collection of poems – the “Moabit Notebook”, for which he was posthumously awarded the Lenin Prize. The poet was executed by guillotine in Berlin in 1944. Near the monument of the poet, you’ll see a memorial with the names of members of the underground group, among which, another Tatar writer Abdulla Alish, was also sentenced to death.

Leo Tolstoy

writer, thinker, political writer, and author of the great novels “War and Peace” and “Anna Karenina”

The Tolstoy Museum (15 Yapeev Street) is located in the centre of the city not far from the Kremlin, the building of which was the writer’s first house during his time in Kazan. Here, you’ll find the biographical exhibition called “Leo Nikolayevich Tolstoy and Kazan”.

Follow Kremlevskaya Street towards Kazan University, where in the 1840's Leo Tolstoy was a student of the Faculty of Philosophy. The writer passed his first winter exams, however unfortunately was not admitted into the spring semester, which prompted him to transfer to the Law Faculty. The change of major did not change the situation: Tolstoy did not become an exemplary student, moreover, this prompted his critical attitude towards the sciences. He later left his studies and moved to Yasnaya Polyana. In the Museum of History of Kazan University, a small showcase is devoted to Tolstoy's student years.

The further you advance in self-perfection, the more you see your own shortcomings... Leo Tolstoy
Yevgeny Baratynsky

was a lyric poet, and one of the most enigmatic authors of the Pushkin era

Tolstoy’s “Kazan period” is a significant one in the biography of the writer: the experiences of these years formed the foundation for his works “Adolescence”, “Youth”, “After the Ball”, and “The Morning of the Landowner”. During his time when he was admitted to Kazan Hospital, the future philosopher kept a diary, in which he continued to make entries throughout his life. Near the house where Tolstoy lived during his student years, there is a square named in his honour. A bronze bust of the writer can be found here, on which his signature is engraved with gold.

A three-minute walk away from the Tolstoy Square in the old noble manor, you’ll find the only museum in Russia dedicated to Yevgeny Baratynsky who lived in Kazan in the 1830s. This building (27 Gorky Street) later belonged to three generations of the poet’s descendants.

A three minute walk away from the Tolstoy Square in the old noble manor house, you’ll find the only museum in Russia dedicated to Yevgeny Baratynsky who lived in Kazan in the 1830s. This building (27 Gorky Street) later belonged to three generations of the poet’s descendants.

I will return to you, the fields of my fathers. The peaceful woods, shelter sacred to the heart! Yevgeny Baratynsky

The museum contains items that tell a detailed story about the poet’s creative path, spiritual searches and the history of his family. You’ll see his lifetime publications and a collection of his personal belongings, as well as a desk, which, according to his relatives, Alexander Pushkin worked at during his time in Kazan.

Gavrila Derzhavin

was a poet of the Age of Enlightenment and a civil servant - a senator and secret councilor

As you stroll down Gorky Street, be sure to visit the monument to Gavrila Derzhavin at the entrance to Lyadsky Garden. The future poet and statesman was born in the village of Sokuru, in the Laishevsky district of Tatarstan. However, there is also an opposing belief that he was actually born in Kazan. After finishing school, Derzhavin went to work in St Petersburg, but did not break off his connection with his hometown, and regularly came back to visit.

Walking through Lyadsky Garden, you can plan a visit to the museum of the Laishevsky region named in honour of Derzhavin (Laishevo is 55 kilometres from Kazan). Only one of the four exhibit sections of the museum are dedicated to the poet's life, which includes Derzhavin’s lifetime publications and a collection of his books. The rest of the exhibition consists of materials about the ethnic history of the region, paleontological exhibits and rare finds of the period of the Bolgar state.

 

Kazan, my native city with the best schools of literature, [you] compare and deserve, to the likes of Athens, immortal glory to you ... Gavrila Derzhavin

Take a look inside the apartment-museum of Musa Dzhalil, who’s name kicked off literary tourism to Tatarstan. It’s located at 17 Gorky Street next to Lyadsky Garden. The Tatar poet lived in apartment #28 of this very house with his family in the early 1940s. During those years the author worked in the nearby opera house, which now bears his name. In the museum exhibition in addition to biographical details, his translation of “The Marriage of Figaro” opera in Tatar is on display, along with a recreated workspace of the poet and even the mandolin which Musa Dzhalil liked to play.

Karim Tinchurin

was a writer, actor, and one of the founders of professional Tatar theatre

Near the apartment-museum of Musa Dzhalil is a building that is a great example of a theatrical structure (13 Gorky Street). The architectural and historical monument is the Theatre named after Karim Tinchurin, founded based on his initiative in 1933. Today, the theatre is the guardian of Tatar art and actively participates in the cultural life of the republic.

Opposite the Tinchurin Theatre you’ll find the Maxim Gorky and Feodor Chaliapin Museum. The mid-19th century building which once housed a bakery where Alexey Peshkov (Gorky’s real name) worked between 1886-1887 is a historical monument of federal significance. The exhibition here is devoted to the creative path of Maxim Gorky as well as the life of the famous singer Feodor Chaliapin in Kazan.

Physically, I was born in Nizhny Novgorod, spiritually - in Kazan. Kazan is the favourite of my universities Maxim Gorky
Maxim Gorky

was a writer and five-time nominee of the Nobel Prize in Literature

The Gorky and Chaliapin exhibit sections of the museum uncover interesting facts and stories about their lives, friendship, and the city that united them. Gorky’s four years in Kazan (1884-1888) were not easy. Exhausting manual labour, Spartan living conditions and spiritual anxieties pushed the future writer to suicide. His attempt failed and all his Kazan experiences were subsequently re-evaluated and channeled into his writing. His urban memories helped form the plots of works such as “My Universities”, “The Master”, “Konovalov”, “The Case from the Life of Makar”, “Twenty-Six and One”.

Alexander Pushkin

was a poet, prose writer, playwright, and the founder of modern Russian language

Stroll down to Pushkin Street and then head towards “Ploschad Svobody” (“Freedom Square”). Near the Tatar Academic Theatre named after Musa Dzhalil, you’ll see the Alexander Pushkin monument, where the poet stands, sternly observing the city. It was here in Kazan where Pushkin collected materials for his work “A History of Pugachev”.

During his stay in the city, the writer met Professor Karl Fuchs, poet Yevgeny Baratynsky and political writer Erast Pertsov. Pushkin’s research in Kazan during his 1833 visit also proved useful when he was writing “The Captain's Daughter”.
I have been busy here with old men, contemporaries of my hero. I rode round the outskirts of the town, went over the fields of battle, asked questions, took notes, and am very pleased that I did not visit these parts in vain Alexander Pushkin
Gabdulla Tukay

was a poet, known as the “Tatar Pushkin”, and laid the foundations of national literature and criticism

On the opposite side of the building of the opera house, stands a monument to the poet Gabdulla Tukay - one of the founders of Tatar literature and modern Tatar language. In 1907, a young Tukay arrived in Kazan to devote his life to writing, quickly entering the literary circles, he became intensely engaged in journalism and poetry. In 1913, the author died at the age of 26 after battling tuberculosis. For the small, as it would seem, period of creativity, Gabdulla Tukay became a defender of the people and a language reformer, who created an entire literary tradition.

Oh Kazan, my sadness and cheerfulness! Radiant Kazan! Here are all the solemn places and deeds of our ancestors, Here are all the beauties and the paradise of the yearning soul! Gabdulla Tukay

Heading down Pushkin Street, to the “Ploshchad Tukaya” ("Tukay Square”) metro station, be sure to plan a trip to the village of Novy Kyrlay, where the great future Tatar poet spent his childhood. The Tukay Museum complex contains numerous literary and art expositions, and a collection of paintings dedicated to the writer's work. The tales of the Tatar poet are also illustrated within the mosaic panels on the walls of the central metro station of Kazan.

Lev Gumilev

was a writer, scientist-ethnologist, and researcher of history and archeology

At the entrance to the “Ploshchad Tukaya” metro station, on the side of Peterburgskaya Street stands a monument to Lev Gumilev. Although the researcher did not visit Kazan, the sculpture symbolizes the ideas of tolerance and interethnic harmony. The engraved words read “To the Russian citizen who defended Tatars from slander all his [/her] life" - a reference to the author's works in the field of ethnology.

For the sake of truth, instead of for the sake of pseudo-science, politics or any other conjuncture, I, a Russian person, all my life protect Tatars from slander. Lev Gumilev

The nearby Tukay park is home to the monument dedicated to the Tatar writer (and this is not the last time you will see the poet). And across the road - Lake Kaban and the Tatar Academic Theatre, bearing the name of one of the founders of the Tatar art of drama Galiassgar Kamal, is a kind of entrance to the Old Tatar Quarter. Take a stroll through the streets named after Tatar writer Kayum Nasyri and poet Fatykh Karim, and pay attention to the Shamil House - an architectural monument of the 19th–20th centuries. Here, you’ll find the literary museum of Gabdulla Tukay, which contains personal belongings of the author, lifetime publications and photographs.

Chistopol

Boris Pasternak

was a writer, and one of the most important poets of the 20th century, as well as a laureate of the Nobel Prize in Literature

100 kilometers outside of Kazan in the city of Chistopol, Boris Pasternak spent one of the most difficult periods of his life. During the wartime evacuation in 1941-1943, the writer rented a room in the house of the Vavilovs, where the museum is now located (75 Volodarsky Street), dedicated to the Nobel Prize laureate. Memorial rooms are recreated based on the memories of Pasternak's guests and the apartment landlords. Here you’ll be able to find items that were in the writer's room, letters, diary entries and photographs. The museum illustrates not only the Chistopol period of the writer's life, but also his artistic life path.

I have always loved our wilderness, small towns and rural areas over capitals, and dear to my heart is Chistopol, and the winters in it, both the inhabitants and the houses, as I saw them in the winter of 1941, when I arrived to an evacuated family Boris Pasternak

Pasternak had to work in almost extreme conditions - for example, one of his jobs was loading firewood in negative thirty-degree (Celsius) weather. However, this only tempered the spirit: “Here we are closer to the fundamental foundations of life. During the war, everyone should live like this, especially artists,” considered the writer. During the war, the author was also engaged in literary translations (among them - translations of Shakespeare’s work), wrote poetry (included in the 1943 collection), and began writing the play “In this world”, which he later destroyed.

On your way to Chistopol, you can also visit Laishevo, take a look around the Derzhavin Regional Museum, and then head over to Yelabuga (265 km from Kazan, and 160 km from Chistopol along the highway) where in 1941, Marina Tsvetaeva and her son arrived right on the Yelabuga coast.

Yelabuga

Marina Tsvetaeva

was a poetess of the Silver Age of Russian Poetry, as well as a translator and prose writer

The city that stands on Kama River was the last place of residence in the biography of the poetess. Here, in the little house of the Brodelshchikovs, she committed suicide. Today it is the House of Memory of Tsvetaeva, where her mid-20th century environment has been fully recreated. It may seem as if Marina Tsvetaeva was in her room just recently and will return soon. Here is her beret, a knitted throw, and even her notebook which was found in the pocket of her apron after her tragic death.

Yelabuga is a city that very lovingly keeps the memory of Tsvetaeva alive. The exposition of the literary museum holds a lock of her hair alongside her personal items - teaspoons, her daughter’s makeup powder box, note paper, and her jewelry. To mark the 110th anniversary of her birth, the city of Yelabuga opened a memorial square with a bronze bust of Marina Tsvetaeva.

These places of memory are contained within the only memorial complex of Marina Tsvetaeva in the world, which also includes the Silver Age library, the Portomoinya Museum, the Silver Age cafe and the guarded cemetery – the final resting place of the poetess. Every year on August 31, the locals bring flowers here and recall the poems of Tsvetaeva, while the Intercession Church serves an annual requiem.

But do not stand sullenly, With a drooping head on your chest, It's easy to think of me, It's easy to forget me. Marina Tsvetaeva

The literary tour of Tatarstan, which will take several days, still cannot be considered fully complete even if you visit all these places; the streets bearing the names of geniuses, memorial plaques, monuments to writers – with each one you uncover, you will continue to find proof that the republic has long been a place for artists' insights and the land of fateful trials.

Routes

Popular among tourists

Find out the cost of tickets to Kazan
Discounts, bonuses and useful information
for visitors of Tatarstan
Download the Tourist Pass application for free

По следам великих писателей и поэтов. Гид по литературному Татарстану

Особняк, где провёл студенческие годы Лев Толстой, письменный стол, за которым работал Пушкин, последнее пристанище Марины Цветаевой: Татарстан с особым трепетом хранит память о гениях, побывавших на этой земле. Рассказываем о крае, который вдохновлял поэтов, закалял характер писателей и становился местом драмы для литераторов, ставших впоследствии классиками

Автор — Иван Бандеров

Казань

Александр Герцен

публицист и философ, в 1853 году основал Вольную русскую типографию в Лондоне

«Татарки с покрытыми лицами, скуластые мужья их, правоверные мечети рядом с православными церквями — все это напоминает Азию и Восток», — писал Александр Герцен о своём незапланированном посещении Казани в 1835 году, а позже добавил: «Значение Казани велико: это место встречи и свидания двух миров. И потому в ней два начала: западное и восточное, и вы их встретите на каждом перекрестке; здесь они от беспрерывного действия друг на друга сжались, сдружились, начали составлять нечто самобытное по характеру».
В Казани два начала: западное и восточное, и вы их встретите на каждом перекрестке Александр Герцен
Муса Джалиль

татарский поэт, автор знаменитой «Моабитской тетради» — цикла стихотворений, написанного в фашистском плену

Свидание двух миров, которое тонко описал русский публицист, продолжается. Увидеть красоту этого союза можно, взглянув на улицы Казани глазами писателя и прикоснувшись к литературным «местам силы» Татарстана.
Если визит в республику чаще всего начинается с Казани, то посещение столицы Татарстана — с Кремля. У подножия Спасской башни стоит памятник татарскому поэту и герою Советского Союза Мусе Джалилю. Во время Великой Отечественной войны писателя, призванного в Красную армию, тяжело ранили. Он попал в плен, где ему удалось стать участником подпольной группы, устраивающей побеги узников.
За тебя, о Родина моя, За большую правду умираю! Муса Джалиль

Находясь в концлагере, Муса Джалиль написал цикл стихотворений «Моабитская тетрадь», за который был посмертно награждён Ленинской премией. Поэта казнили на гильотине в Берлине в 1944 году. Рядом с памятником Джалилю установлен мемориал с именами участников подпольной группы, среди которых еще один татарский литератор Абдулла Алиш — его также приговорили к смерти.
Лев Толстой

писатель, мыслитель и публицист, автор великих романов «Война и мир» и «Анна Каренина»

В центре города, недалеко от Кремля (Япеева, 15), находится музей Толстого — это здание стало первым домом в Казани для Льва Николаевича. Здесь расположена биографическая экспозиция «Лев Николаевич Толстой и Казань».

Следуйте по улице Кремлёвской к Казанскому университету, где в 1840-х годах граф Лев Толстой числился студентом философского факультета. Первые зимние экзамены будущий писатель сдал без проблем, а вот к весенней сессии допущен не был, после чего перевёлся на юридический факультет. Смена специальности ситуацию не изменила: Толстой не стал образцовым студентом, более того, у графа развивалось критическое настроение по отношению к официальной науке. Впоследствии он оставил учебу и уехал в Ясную Поляну. В Музее истории Казанского университета студенческим годам Толстого посвящена небольшая витрина.
Чем далее подвигаешься в усовершенствовании самого себя, тем более видишь в себе недостатков… Лев Толстой
Евгений Боратынский

поэт-лирик, один из самых загадочных авторов пушкинской поры

«Казанский период» Толстого — один из важнейших в биографии мыслителя: переживания этих лет легли в канву произведений «Отрочество», «Юность», «После бала», «Утро помещика». Находясь в казанском госпитале, будущий философ начал вести дневник, в который вносил записи на протяжении всей своей жизни. Рядом с домом, где граф жил в студенческие годы, располагается сквер имени Толстого. Здесь установлен бронзовый бюст писателю, на котором золотом выгравирована его подпись.

В трёх минутах ходьбы от сквера Толстого в старинной дворянской усадьбе расположен единственный в России музей, посвященный Евгению Боратынскому — он жил в Казани в 1830-х. Это здание (Горького, 27) впоследствии принадлежало трем поколениям потомков поэта пушкинской поры.
Я возвращуся к вам, поля моих отцов. Дубравы мирные, священный сердцу кров! Евгений Баратынский
Здесь хранятся предметы, рассказывающие о подробностях его творческого пути, духовных исканиях и истории его семьи: прижизненные издания и коллекция личных вещей Боратынского, а также письменный стол, за которым, по семейному преданию, во время посещения Казани работал Александр Пушкин.
Гавриил Державин

поэт эпохи Просвещения, государственный служащий — сенатор и тайный советник

Следуя вниз по улице Горького, посетите памятник Гавриилу Державину у входа в Лядской сад. Будущий поэт и государственный деятель родился в селе Сокуры Лаишевского района Татарстана. Однако существует и версия о том, что он родился в Казани. После учебы Державин уехал на службу в Петербург, однако не прерывал связь с родиной и при случае возвращался сюда.

Прогуливаясь по Лядскому, можно запланировать посещение музея Лаишевского края имени Державина (Лаишево находится в 55 километрах от Казани). Только один из четырёх выставочных разделов музея посвящён жизни поэта и включает прижизненное издание и коллекцию книг Державина. Остальная часть экспозиции состоит из материалов об этнической истории края, палеонтологических экспонатов и редких находок периода Булгарского государства.
Казань, мой отечественный град, с лучшими училищами словесности сравнится и заслужит, как Афины, бессмертную себе славу… Гавриил Державин
Памятник Гавриилу Державину у входа в Лядской сад
Загляните в музей-квартиру Мусы Джалиля, с имени которого началось литературное паломничество по Татарстану — дом №17 на улице Горького находится рядом с Лядским садом. В квартире №28 татарский поэт жил с семьей в начале 1940-х годов. В эти же годы автор работал в оперном театре, который теперь носит его имя. В экспозиции, помимо биографических подробностей, представлены перевод оперы «Свадьба Фигаро» на татарском языке, воссозданное рабочее пространство поэта и мандолина, на которой любил играть Джалиль.
Карим Тинчурин

писатель и актёр, один из основателей профессионального татарского театра

По соседству с музеем-квартирой находится здание, являющееся образцом театрального сооружения (Горького, 13). Архитектурно-исторический памятник — театр имени Карима Тинчурина — основан по инициативе классика татарской литературы в 1933 году. Сегодня театр является хранителем татарского искусства и активно участвует в культурной жизни республики.
Напротив театра Тинчурина — музей Максима Горького и Фёдора Шаляпина. Здание середины XIX века, где в 1886-87 годах в пекарне работал Алексей Пешков (настоящее имя Горького), — исторический памятник федерального значения. Экспозиция посвящена творческому пути писателя и жизни известного певца в Казани.
Физически я родился в Нижнем Новгороде, духовно — в Казани. Казань — любимейший из моих университетов Максим Горький
Максим Горький

писатель и публицист, пятикратный номинант на Нобелевскую премию по литературе

Горьковский и шаляпинский разделы выставки рассказывают о дружбе артистов и об объединяющем их биографии городе. Проведённые в Казани четыре года (с 1884-го по 1888) были нелегкими для Пешкова: тяжелый изнурительный труд, спартанские условия жизни и духовные переживания, которые подтолкнули будущего писателя к самоубийству. Суицид, к счастью, не удался, а всё пережитое в Казани было переоценено и сублимировано в искусство. Городские воспоминания легли в сюжеты произведений «Мои университеты», «Хозяин», «Коновалов», «Случай из жизни Макара», «Двадцать шесть и одна».
Александр Пушкин

поэт, прозаик, драматург, основоположник современного русского языка

Спускайтесь к улице Пушкина и отправляйтесь в сторону площади Свободы. Возле татарского академического театра имени Мусы Джалиля стоит памятник Александру Сергеевичу, строго взирающему на город. В Казани Пушкин собирал материал для сочинения «История Пугачевского бунта».

Во время пребывания в городе, писатель встретился с профессором Карлом Фуксом, поэтом Евгением Боратынским и публицистом Эрастом Перцовым. Исследование, проведенное Пушкиным в Казани в 1833 году, пригодилось также при написании «Капитанской дочки».
Здесь я возился со стариками, современниками моего героя, объезжал окрестности города, осматривал места сражения, расшифровывал, записывал и очень доволен, что не напрасно посетил эту сторону Александр Пушкин
Габдулла Тукай

поэт, «татарский Пушкин», заложил основы национальной литературы и критики

С противоположной стороны здания оперного театра стоит памятник поэту Габдулле Тукаю — одному из основоположников татарской литературы и современного татарского языка. В 1907 году молодой Тукай приехал в Казань, чтобы посвятить свою жизнь творчеству, быстро вошёл в литературные круги, углубленно занялся публицистикой и поэзией. В 1913 году автор скончался в возрасте 26 лет от чахотки. За небольшой, казалось бы, период творчества Габдулла Тукай стал заступником народа и реформатором языка, создавшим целую традицию в литературе.
О Казань, ты грусть и бодрость! Светозарная Казань! Здесь деянья дедов наших, здесь священные места, здесь счастливца ожидают милой гурии уста Габдулла Тукай
Направляясь вниз по улице Пушкина, к станции метро «Площадь Габдуллы Тукая», запланируйте поездку в село Новый Кырлай, где будущий великий татарский поэт провёл своё детство. Здесь в музейном комплексе Тукая работают бытовая и литературно-художественная экспозиции, представлена коллекция картин, посвящённых произведениям писателя. Иллюстрируют сказки татарского поэта и мозаичные панно, размещенные на стенах центральной станции метро Казани.
Лев Гумилёв

писатель и ученый-этнолог, исследователь истории и археологии

У входа на станцию «Площадь Тукая», со стороны улицы Петербургской, установлен памятник Льву Гумилёву. Пусть исследователь и не бывал в Казани, скульптура символизирует идеи толерантности и межнационального согласия. Под ней выгравированы слова: «Русскому человеку, всю жизнь защищавшему татар от клеветы» — отсылка к работам автора в области этнологии.
Ради истины, а не ради псевдонаучной, политической или какой-то другой конъюнктуры я, русский человек, всю жизнь защищаю татар от клеветы Лев Гумилев

Рядом находится уютный сквер Тукая, в котором стоит памятник татарскому литератору (и это не последнее свидание с поэтом). А через дорогу — озеро Кабан и Татарский академический театр, носящий имя одного из основоположников татарской драматургии  Галиасгара Камала — это своеобразный вход в Старо-Татарскую слободу. Прогуляйтесь по улицам, названным в честь татарского писателя Каюма Насыри и поэта Фатыха Карима, и обратите внимание на Дом Шамиля — архитектурный памятник XIX – XX веков. Здесь работает литературный музей Габдуллы Тукая, в котором хранятся личные вещи автора, прижизненные издания и фотографии.

Чистополь

Борис Пастернак

писатель, один из важнейших поэтов ХХ века, лауреат Нобелевской премии по литературе

В 100 километрах от Казани, в городе Чистополь, Борис Пастернак провёл один из самых трудных периодов жизни. Во время эвакуации в 1941–1943 годах писатель снимал комнату в доме Вавиловых, где теперь расположен музей (Володарского, 75), посвященный нобелевскому лауреату. Мемориальные комнаты воссозданы по воспоминаниям гостей Пастернака и хозяев квартиры. Здесь хранятся предметы, находившиеся в комнате писателя, письма, дневниковые записи и фотокарточки. Музей иллюстрирует не только чистопольский период жизни литератора, но и его путь в искусстве.

Я всегда любил нашу глушь, мелкие города и сельские местности больше столиц, и мил моему сердцу Чистополь, и зимы в нем, и жители, и дома, как я увидел их зимой 1941 года, когда приехал к эвакуированной семье Борис Пастернак
Пастернаку приходилось работать почти в экстремальных условиях — например, грузить дрова в тридцатиградусный мороз. Однако это только закаляло дух: «Здесь мы ближе к коренным устоям жизни. Во время войны все должны жить так, особенно художники», — считал писатель. В годы войны автор занимался литературными переводами (среди них — переводы Шекспира), писал стихи (вошли в сборник 1943 года), начал пьесу «На этом свете», которую впоследствии уничтожил.

По дороге в Чистополь можно заехать в Лаишево, посетить краевой музей имени Державина. А после — отправиться в Елабугу (265 км от Казани, от Чистополя — 160 км по трассе): в 1941 году на елабужский берег высадились Марина Цветаева с сыном.

Елабуга

Марина Цветаева

поэтесса Серебряного века, переводчик и прозаик

Город на Каме стал последним в биографии поэтессы — здесь, в маленьком домике Бродельщиковых, она покончила жизнь самоубийством. Сегодня — это Дом памяти Цветаевой, где воссоздана обстановка середины XX века. Может показаться, будто Марина Ивановна была в своей комнате совсем недавно и скоро вернется. Вот её берет, вот вязанный плед, а вот записная книжка — её нашли в кармане фартука после трагической смерти.

Елабуга — город, который по-настоящему, с особым трепетом хранит память о Цветаевой. В экспозиции литературного музея хранится прядь её волос и личные предметы — чайные ложечки, пудреница дочери, бумага для записей, камея. В год 110-летия со дня рождения поэтессы в Елабуге открыли мемориальную площадь с бронзовым бюстом Марины Ивановны.

Места памяти составляют единственный в мире мемориальный комплекс Марины Цветаевой, в который также входят библиотека Серебряного века, музей «Портомойня», кафе «Серебряный век» и охраняемая территория кладбища, где похоронена поэтесса — ежегодно 31 августа горожане приносят сюда цветы и вспоминают стихотворения Цветаевой, а в Покровской церкви настоятель служит ежегодную панихиду.
Но только не стой угрюмо, главу опустив на грудь. Легко обо мне подумай, легко обо мне забудь Марина Цветаева
Литературное паломничество по Татарстану, которое займет несколько дней, нельзя назвать завершенным: улицы, носящие имена гениев, мемориальные доски, памятники писателям — вы встретите ещё не одно доказательство тому, что республика издавна становилась местом для озарений художников и землей для судьбоносных испытаний.

Маршруты

Популярные среди туристов

Узнайте стоимость билетов до Казани