The application we offer shows the most interesting cafes and museums and also can provide up to 25% off

Discount for cafes and museums in Kazan

Download application

A Guide to Orthodox Sights of Tatarstan

Tatarstan attracts tourists not only with its large number of mosques and their rich architectural decor, but also with various monuments of Orthodox culture. Here is a round-up of the main cathedrals, churches and monasteries, in no way inferior in their historical value to the likes of famous Moscow and Novgorod equivalents.

Kazan

Saints Peter and Paul Cathedral 

The Saints Peter and Paul Cathedral is one of the main spiritual symbols of Kazan, and is a most valuable monument of the "Russian", or the so-called "Naryshkin" baroque style of the first half of the 18th century. It was built in 1723-1726 by Kazan merchant Ivan Mikhlyaev in memory of the visit of Peter the Great to Kazan. The cathedral’s architecture and decorative elements are unique and are unlike any other architectural monument in existence. The 52 metre high two-story temple stands on a mountain, making it clearly visible even from afar. Inside it is decorated with stucco moulding with plant motifs, hence why locals lovingly call it the city’s ‘hanging garden [made of stone]’. Also, this is the only temple in Kazan where you will find the only preserved large unique ancient tiles of this kind, located on the mezzanine floor.

It is not surprising that not only statesmen and public figures but all Russian Emperors and Empresses made the trip to admire this temple, beginning with Catherine II. Scientist, naturalist and traveler Alexander Humboldt described the cathedral in his notes during his trip to Russia in 1829, Alexander Dumas wrote about it in his book “The Fencing Master”, and Feodor Chaliapin often sang in the cathedral during worship. In such a place you can truly sense the atmosphere of past centuries and take solace from the hustle and bustle of the city. The observation deck outside is also worth stopping at – even if it’s just for a second to take a look at the historical centre of Kazan from another angle, overlooking the Kremlin and Bauman Street.

Location: 21 Musa Dzhalil St

Cathedral of the Annunciation

This is the oldest building of the entire Kazan Kremlin complex, as well as a unique example of the Pskov Architectural School. In December 1552, builder Yakovlev Postnik and bricklayer Ivan Shiryaev who built St Basil’s Cathedral in Moscow were summoned by Ivan the Terrible to travel to Kazan in order to construct a stone Kremlin and this cathedral. The temple was built by 80 Pskov masters between 1556 and 1562. Initially, it was a white-stone cross-domed church, however due to numerous fires the old building was not preserved and was shut down in 1925. The cathedral did not restart operating until much later, on 21 July 2005 - the day when the Kazan diocese marked its 450th anniversary.

Despite a large number of reconstructions, the temple managed to preserve the original Pskov style and unique decorative elements. Also the Cathedral is home to one of the most famous shrines - the monastic cell of Archbishop Gury with an old 16th century icon depicting the Miraculous Saviour. This temple is also unique because you can truly feel the close interweaving of cultures and religions, since the Muslim Kul Sharif Mosque stands right next door. Such a harmonious inter-existence characterizes not only the Kazan Kremlin, but the culture of the Republic as a whole.

Location: Bldg. 2, Kazan Kremlin, Kazan

The Zilant Holy Assumption Monastery 

This is another monastery built by order of Ivan the Terrible on 15 October 1552 - the day of the capture of Kazan, and is the oldest of all surviving monasteries of the Volga region. Initially it was located near the mass grave of Russian soldiers who fell during the capture of Kazan, but due to constant floods in 1559, it was transferred to Mount Zilant. It was here in the 7th century that the main monastery complex took shape, including the Assumption Cathedral, the church in the name of Alexey Metropolit of Moscow and Prince Vladimir Church. The monastery currently houses a female commune, where the sisters engage in needlework, restore icons and conduct tours for pilgrims.

The monastery is located in the Kirovsky district of Kazan, on the other side of the bustling centre, so you can easily settle into the unique spiritual atmosphere and continue a leisurely walk along the quiet streets of the city. The most beautiful view of the monastery can be seen from the Volga or if you’re going by via train.

Location: 1 Arkhangelskiy Pereulok

Bogoroditsky Monastery 

The cathedral was founded in 1579 and is associated with the icon of the Kazan Mother of God. According to records of the future patriarch Germogen, a girl called Matrona was visited by the Virgin in a dream, guiding her to the whereabouts of an icon. On 8 June 1579, Matrona discovered the icon of the Virgin on the site of a burned down house.

The Bogoroditsky Monastery for many centuries remained the largest and most famous in the Volga region. It was a unique architectural complex that occupied several hectares of land and included churches, cathedrals, chapels, a bell tower, residential buildings and a parish school in its own building. Over time various kinds of destruction have left the complex badly damaged, but today you can see the restored 19th century Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross and the Sofia Gate Church. A copy of the lost icon of the Kazan Mother of God donated by the Pope is also kept here in this complex.

The best time to visit is in the mornings, before the large crowds come to see the most revered icon. If you do come early, don’t miss the opportunity to have some fresh pastries for breakfast from the bakery located at the temple.

Location: 5 Bolshaya Krasnaya St

Sviyazhsk

Sviyazhsk Bogoroditse-Uspensky Monastery 

This UNESCO World Heritage Site happens to be the most important base for the spread of Orthodoxy in the Volga region. The monastery was built in 1555 - simultaneously with the establishment of the Kazan diocese. Buildings of different ages have survived on its territory, which together form an impressive architectural ensemble. The most valuable of them are the Assumption Cathedral and the Church of St Nicholas the Wonderworker. They are the oldest buildings here and are recognized as masterpieces of Russian architecture of the 16th century.

The Assumption Cathedral was built in 1561 in a Pskov-Novgorod style. In the 18th century it received a new dome in a Ukrainian baroque style and 12 patterned baroque style ornaments around the top, which made the strict structure slightly more approachable. The unique frescoes that decorate the 1,080 square metres of the temple inside, express the complete cycle of colourful wall painting styles of the Ivan the Terrible era.

Another valuable monument of the monastery is the Church of St Nicholas the Wonderworker. The church is a place of pilgrimage for Orthodox believers from all over Russia. It was built in 1556 under the leadership of architect Ivan Shirya, who contributed with the strong traditional architectural features of 16th century Pskov masters. Initially, the walls of the temple were covered with unique frescoes, however only one fragment has survived to this day: a fragment of the face of St Nichola Mozhaiskogo on the eastern facade in a small nook. During the time of Ivan the Terrible, the basement of the bell tower near the church had an underground passage that led to Lake Shuchye, which was the secret source of water during the siege. As a result of additional building add-ons, the height of this bell tower reached 43 metres, and is now the tallest building in Sviyazhsk.

The most beautiful photographs of the complex can be taken from the parking lot and the helipad at the entrance to the island from which you can see the skyline of the main monastery buildings. And on the way back, have your camera ready by the monastery gates where you will see a beautiful view of the Sviyaga River and nearest islands.

Location: Zelenodolskiy district, Sviyazhsk village

Bolgar

St Abraham Church

The church is located near the ruins of the famous Bulgarian settlement and is a pilgrimage centre for Orthodox believers from all over Tatarstan.

St Abraham Church was built in Porfirovka village in 1895. The rural wooden architecture style building was designed by Kazan architect Malinovsky. After some time, the village emptied out, so at the request of Bolgar residents, the temple was moved to the city in 1988 during an anniversary year of the Baptism of Russia. The temple was named in honour of the holy martyr Abraham of Bolgar, who in the 13th century lived in these parts and sacrificed himself for the Orthodox faith.

Today it is a blue building with silver-plated domes near a birch grove. Unique Orthodox paintings and icons can be found inside the church, and the main shrines of the temple are the reliquary with relics of Abraham of Bolgar and a healing spring that runs through the site of death of the church’s patron Saint.

Be sure to also visit the courtyard of the church where you can find small-scale models of different types of churches which doubles as a great opportunity to take photos with different sights all in one place.

Location: 144 Likhacheva St, Bolgar

Zelenodolsk

Bogoroditskiy Monastery of Raifa 

This monastery is a famous pilgrimage centre for Orthodox believers and is the largest of the existing monasteries of Tatarstan.

The wooden monastery was built in the middle of the 17th century by hermit Filaret, however after the 1689 fire, a stone ensemble began to take shape in the 17th-18th centuries. Having been restored after numerous fires, the monastery complex is now one of the most magnificent in the central Volga region, made especially picturesque with the surrounding pine forest reserve and Lake Raif at its doorstep. There are four churches on the territory of the monastery: a cathedral in honour of the Georgian Icon of the Mother of God, a church in honour of the venerated fathers in Raif and Sinai of the beaten, a cathedral in the name of the Life-Giving Trinity and a gate church. The main shrine of the Raifa Monastery is the Georgian Icon of the Mother of God, which was returned from Kazan on 14 August 1992.

Location: Zelenodolskiy region, Raifa village

Chistopol

St Nicholas Cathedral

The cathedral is one of the main architectural decorations and the dominant centre of Chistopol.

One of the most valuable architectural monuments in the Kazan region - St Nicholas Cathedral was built in 1838 by architect Peter Pyatnitsky, who was famous for the construction of Kazan University. The cathedral is located on a high bank of the Kama River at the entrance to the old city and is a vivid example of late classicism. Given its status, naturally, most of the city sightseeing tours begin here. The interior of the church has preserved a unique fresco of the Romanov family created before their canonization, while the floor still contains old tiles dating back to pre-revolution times.

Location: 2 K Marksa St, Chistopol 

Yelabuga

Cathedral of the Protection of the Holy Virgin

This church has high architectural value as a unique building with complex shapes. Its design combines elements of late baroque, empire and early classicism, while the turquoise walls with white decorative elements give the building a very special festive feel.

The cathedral was built in 1820 on the site of two old wooden churches and was consecrated in honour of the Protection of the Holy Virgin and the prophet Elijah. The gate was painted by two outstanding artists - Carl Gun and Vasily Vereshchagin. The church patrons were wealthy Yelabuga merchants, therefore the church’s decorative features were considered luxurious for its time - the altar with rich detailing and gilded royal gates especially always attracted the attention of visitors. The main shrine of the temple is an ancient icon of the Three Hierarchs - Basil the Great, John Chrysostom and Gregory the Theologian.

Location: 42 Bolshaya Pokrovskaya St, Yelabuga

Routes

Popular among tourists

Find out the cost of tickets to Kazan
Discounts, bonuses and useful information
for visitors of Tatarstan
Download the Tourist Pass application for free

Путеводитель по православным достопримечательностям Татарстана

Республика привлекает туристов не только большим количеством мечетей с богатым архитектурным декором, но и памятниками православной культуры. Рассказываем о главных соборах, церквях и монастырях, не уступающих своей исторической ценностью известным московским и новгородским постройкам.

Автор — Анастасия Тищенко

Казань

Петропавловский собор

Храм является одним из главных духовных символов Казани и ценнейшим архитектурным памятником русского или так называемого «Нарышкинского» барокко первой половины XVIII века. Построен он был в 1723-1726 годах казанским купцом Иваном Михляевым в память о визите в Казань Петра I. Архитектура и убранство собора уникальны и не похожи ни на один другой архитектурный памятник. Двухъярусный храм 52 метра в высоту и стоит на горе, за счет чего его хорошо видно даже издалека. Внутри собор украшен лепниной с растительными мотивами — за это его прозвали «каменными висячими садами Казани». А ещё в галерее можно увидеть крупные старинные изразцы — это единственный храм в Казани, где сохранился такой вид уникальной плитки.

Не удивительно, что полюбоваться храмом приезжали все российские императоры и императрицы, начиная с Екатерины II, государственные и общественные деятели. Ученый, натуралист и путешественник Александр Гумбольдт описывал собор в своих заметках о путешествии в Россию в 1829 году, Александр Дюма рассказал о нем в своей книге «Учитель фехтования», а Фёдор Шаляпин нередко пел в соборе за богослужением. В таком месте можно проникнуться атмосферой прошлых столетий и отдохнуть от городской суеты, а со смотровой площадки внимательно рассмотреть исторический центр Казани — оттуда открывается вид на Кремль и улицу Баумана.

Адрес собора: ул. Мусы Джалиля, д. 21.


Благовещенский собор

Это старейшее сооружение ансамбля Казанского кремля и уникальный образец псковской архитектурной школы. В декабре 1552 года мастер Постник Яковлев и каменщик Иван Ширяев — строители Собора Василия Блаженного — по указанию Ивана Грозного приехали в Казань строить каменный кремль и Благовещенский собор. Храм строили 80 псковских мастеров с 1556 по 1562 года. Изначально он представлял собой белокаменный крестово-купольный храм, но из-за крупных пожаров старое здание так и не сохранилось, а в 1925 году храм закрыли. Собор начал заново свою работу только 21 июля 2005 года — в день празднования 450-летия Казанской епархии.

Несмотря на большое количество реконструкций, храму удалось сохранить исконный псковский стиль и уникальные орнаменты. Также в Благовещенском соборе находится одна из самых известных святынь — келья архиепископа Гурия со старинным образом Спаса Нерукотворного XVI века. Именно тут можно почувствовать тесное сплетение культур и религий, ведь рядом с собором находится мусульманская мечеть Кул-Шариф. Именно такое доброе соседство характеризует Казанский Кремль и республику в целом.
Адрес: Казань, Казанский Кремль, стр. 2

Зилантов Свято-Успенский женский монастырь

Монастырь был также построен по инициативе Ивана Грозного в день и год взятия Казани 15 октября 1552 года и является древнейшим из сохранившихся монастырей Поволжья. Изначально монастырь находился около братской могилы русских воинов, павших при взятии Казани, но из-за постоянного половодья в 1559 году его перенесли на Зилантову гору. Именно здесь в VII веке сложился основной ансамбль монастыря, включающий Успенский собор, храм во имя Алексия Митрополита Московского и Князь-Владимирскую церковь. Сейчас в монастыре находится женская община, сестры которой занимаются рукоделием, реставрируют иконы и проводят экскурсии для паломников.

Монастырь находится в Кировском районе Казани — на другом берегу от шумного центра, поэтому ничто не помешает вам проникнуться особой духовной атмосферой и продолжить неспешную прогулку по тихим улицам города. А самый красивый вид на монастырь открывается с Волги и поездов железной дороги, проложенных мимо монастыря.

Адрес: Архангельский переулок, д. 1

Казанский Богородицкий монастырь

Собор был основан в 1579 году и связан с обретением иконы Казанской Божьей матери. Согласно записям будущего патриарха Гермогена, девочке Матроне Богородица пришла во сне и показала местонахождение образа. 8 июня 1579 года Матрона обнаружила икону Богородицы на месте горевшего дома.

Казанский Богородицкий монастырь на протяжении многих столетий оставался самым крупным и известным в Поволжье. Это был уникальный архитектурный комплекс, который занимал несколько гектаров земли и включал церкви, соборы, часовни, колокольню, жилые корпуса и здание церковно-приходской школы. Комплекс сильно пострадал от разрушений, но сегодня можно увидеть отреставрированный Крестовоздвиженский храм XIX века и Софийскую надвратную церковь. Сейчас в комплексе хранится список утерянной иконы Казанской Божьей матери, подаренной Папой Римским.

Приходить сюда лучше утром, пока в монастыре нет больших очередей из желающих увидеть самую почитаемую икону. Также при храме работает пекарня, в которой можно будет позавтракать свежей выпечкой.

Адрес: ул. Большая Красная, д. 5


Свияжск

Богородице-Успенский мужской монастырь

Это важнейший центр распространения православия в Поволжье и объект всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Монастырь был построен в 1555 году — одновременно с учреждением Казанской епархии. На его территории сохранились постройки разных времен, которые образуют впечатляющий архитектурный ансамбль. Самые ценные из них — Успенский собор и церковь Николая Чудотворца. Они являются самыми древними постройками в Свияжске и признаны шедеврами русского зодчества XVI века.

Успенский собор был построен в 1561 году в псковско-новгородском стиле, а в XVIII веке получил новый купол в стиле украинского барокко и 12 узорных барочных кокошников, которые немного смягчили суровое сооружение. Внутри храм украшен уникальными фресками общей площадью 1080 кв.метров. Это полный цикл многокрасочной стенной росписи эпохи Ивана Грозного.

Еще один ценный памятник монастыря — Церковь Николая Чудотворца. Церковь является местом паломничества православных верующих со всей России. Она была построена в 1556 году под руководством зодчего Ивана Ширяя, который отразил в архитектуре традиционные черты псковской школы XVI века. Изначально стены храма были покрыты уникальными фресками, но до наших дней сохранился только фрагмент лика Николы Можайского на восточном фасаде в нише. Во времена Ивана Грозного в подвале колокольни рядом с храмом был потайной подземный ход, который вел к Щучьему озеру — оно снабжало служащих водой во время осады. После надстроек высота этой колокольни достигла 43 метров, и сейчас она является самым высоким сооружением в Свияжске.

Самые красивые фотографии комплекса можно сделать на парковке и вертолетной площадке при въезде на остров — оттуда открывается панорама главных зданий монастыря, которую невозможно не запечатлеть. А на обратном пути у ворот монастыря вам откроется прекрасный вид на реку Свиягу и ближайшие острова.

Адрес: Зеленодольский район, село Свияжск.


Болгар

Свято-Авраамиевская церковь

Церковь находится рядом с руинами знаменитого Булгарского городища и является центром паломничества православных верующих со всего Татарстана.
Свято-Авраамиевская церковь была построена в 1895 году в селе Порфировка по проекту казанского архитектора Малиновского в традициях сельского деревянного зодчества. Село спустя время опустело, поэтому по просьбе жителей Болгара храм был перенесен в город в юбилейный 1988 год Крещения Руси. Храм был назван в честь святого мученика Авраамия Болгарского, который в XIII веке жил в этих местах и принял смерть за православную веру.

Сегодня это голубое здание с посеребренными куполами у березовой рощи. Внутри церкви находится оригинальная православная роспись и иконы, а главные святыни храма — рака с мощами Авраамия Болгарского и целебный источник, бьющий на месте гибели покровителя церкви.

А во дворе церкви есть подворье, в котором можно увидеть уменьшенные модели разных видов церквей — отличная возможность сделать фото с разными достопримечательностями не выезжая за пределы одного места.

Адрес: Болгар, ул. Лихачева, д. 144.


Зеленодольск

Раифский Богородицкий мужской монастырь

Монастырь является известным центром паломничества православных верующих и крупнейшим из действующих монастырей Татарстанской митрополии.

Обитель была построена в середине XVII века отшельником Филаретом. До пожара 1689 года монастырь был полностью деревянным, а с XVII—XVIII начал сложился каменный ансамбль. Сейчас восстановленный после многочисленных пожаров монастырский комплекс является одним из самых величественных в среднем Поволжье, а особую живописность ему придают заповедный сосновый лес вокруг и Раифское озеро. На территории монастыря действуют четыре храма: собор в честь Грузинской иконы Божией Матери, храм в честь Преподобных отцов в Раифе и Синае избиенных, собор во имя Живоначальной Троицы и надвратный храм. Главная святыня Раифского монастыря — Грузинская икона Божией Матери, которая была возвращена из Казани 14 августа 1992 года.

Адрес: Зеленодольский район, посёлок Раифа.

Чистополь

Никольский собор

Собор является одним из главных архитектурных украшений и доминантой центра Чистополя.

Никольский собор был построен в 1838 году по проекту архитектора Петра Пятницкого, прославившегося постройкой Казанского университета. Расположен собор на высоком берегу Камы на въезде в старый город и представляет собой яркий образец позднего классицизма, являясь одним из самых ценных памятников архитектуры в Казанском крае. Не зря именно с него начинается большинство обзорных экскурсий по городу. В интерьере церкви сохранилась уникальная фреска семьи Романовых, написанная еще до их канонизации, а на полу можно увидеть плитку дореволюционного производства.

Адрес: г. Чистополь, ул. К.Маркса, д. 2

Елабуга

Собор Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы

Церковь имеет высокую архитектурную ценность как уникальное сооружение со сложными формами, сочетающими элементы позднего барокко, ампира и раннего классицизма, а бирюзовые стены с белым убранством всегда выглядят празднично.

Собор был построен в 1820 году на месте двух старых деревянных церквей и был освещён в честь Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы и пророка Илии. Ворота расписывали два выдающихся художника — Карл Гун и Василий Верещагин. Покровителями церкви были состоятельные елабужские купцы, поэтому убранство храма было по тем временам роскошным — алтарь с богатой отделкой и позолоченные царские ворота всегда привлекали внимание посетителей. Главная святыня храма — древняя икона Трех Святителей Василия Великого, Иоанна Златоуста и Григория Богослова.

Адрес: г. Елабуга, ул. Большая Покровская, д. 42.


Фото: Visit Tatarstan, Татарстанская митрополия

Маршруты

Популярные среди туристов

Узнайте стоимость билетов до Казани