‘The Legend of Yusuf’ and ‘Zuleikha Opens Her Eyes’. A guide to books about Tatarstan

Often during trips there is not enough time to learn even a small portion of all the information about a particular place, or more so, visit all the main sites. Luckily, this situation can be turned around with the help of books - they can help you embark on an exciting adventure again from the comfort of your own home. We have compiled a list of tour guide books, novels and collections of works that will tell you fascinating stories of Tatarstan and its inhabitants during both periods of decline and prosperity.

Churiki-mokuriki of the island Sviyazhsk by Marina Razbezhkina and Rashit Safiullin 

This book is the work of film director Marina Razbezhkina and artist Rashit Safiullin. Together they gathered valuable material about Sviyazhsk between the 1970s and the 1990s. The book contains recordings of people's speeches, paintings, drawings, photographs and a dictionary that describes the phenomena of local life. According to Marina Razbezhkina, “Churiki-mokuriki are the name she gave to fragments of speech and life, the details of the mosaic from which life is ultimately made up; a kind of Sviyazhsk Facebook”. The book by two talented authors will reveal a fascinating and crowded Sviyazhsk, where each inhabitant has an unusual story to share.

Where the rose hip blooms by Olga Kuzmicheva-Drobyshevskaya 

The book which overlaps genres includes studies by historians, interviews with local residents, author essays and fiction that will allow you to see a full portrait of Naberezhnye Chelny in the early 1970s. From it you will learn in what conditions the builders of the famous KAMAZ lived, what the locals had to endure during the wars and repressions and the secret stories the city contains in itself.

 

Brezhnev City by Shamil Idiatullin

In this novel, the author describes life in the early 1980s in Naberezhnye Chelny (at that time called Brezhnev) during the time of USSR Chairman Andropov, perestroika and the next round of the Cold War. The main characters of the book are a KAMAZ employee, a young teacher and an eighth grader, each of whom is experiencing personal problems and a turning point in the country's development in its own way. Based on the words of Shamil Idiatullin, the book was written as a tribute to childhood, the city and its local residents.

Zuleikha Opens Her Eyes by Guzel Yakhina

This novel is centred around the fate of a peasant woman called Zuleikha from a Tatar village and other migrants, who were sent to hard labour camps in Siberia in 1930. The author of the book was born in Kazan and was inspired by the fate of those dispossessed after the revolution due to the stories of her grandmother, who also survived Siberian exile. The book is based on stories of people who were in exile between 1930 and 1946. The filming of the on-screen adaptation of the book commenced in October 2018 in Kazan, where the main role is played by Chulpan Khamatova - renowned People’s Artist of Russia originally from Kazan.

Steep Route by Evgenia Ginzburg

Another book about the difficult life of people who survived prisons, camps and exiles. In this autobiography novel, the Kazan journalist talks about 18 terrible times of imprisonment and life of a generation of Kazan’s creative intellectuals in the 1930s. Due to exile, Evgenia Ginzburg and her husband had to leave their young son in Kazan - the future writer Vasily Aksenov, who lived in a communal house with relatives. A few years ago, the building where he lived was reconstructed and it has now become the house-museum of the Aksenov family, which is open to the public.

The Diaries by Gabdulla Tukay

Gabdulla Tukay - a national poet of the Republic of Tatarstan left behind a rich literary heritage. ‘Mother Tongue’, ‘Shurale’ and ‘About Freedom’ are the best places to start if you want to get to know the poet’s work. However, to really get to know him as a person we suggest doing so from his own ‘Diaries’. The little-known document contains memories, photographs and diary entries of the author, as well as his personal thoughts about life’s tests and anxieties of the last years of his life, which reveal the true personality of a talented writer.

The Eighth Day Eve by Olga Ilyina

The writer and great-granddaughter of poet Yevgeny Boratynsky was born in Kazan, but in 1922 was forced to emigrate to Harbin, and later to San Francisco, where she released this autobiographical novel. In the book, she explores the turning points of the beginning of the 20th century: the First World War, the 1917 Revolution, and the Civil War. This is the first work published in Russia in Russian at the request of the poetess herself, and it has been transferred to the Boratynsky Museum in Kazan, where you can see her watercolour portrait and learn more about the family of talented writers.

Mythology of the Kazan Tatars by Kayum Nasyri and Yakov Koblov

Kazan can surprise not only with its sights and hospitality, but also with its abundant and peculiar folklore and mythology. After extensive studies, the authors describe their findings of all mythological creatures, as well as beliefs and signs that have been distributed among the Tatars over the centuries. The book will tell you about Shurale and other mysterious characters, and reveal the meanings of dreams and popular superstitions.

Secrets of the Volga Bulgar by Yuri Suprunenko

It was in the Bulgars that the Kazan Khanate was born and where for the first time in Russia, a conversion to Islam happened voluntarily. Hence why the modern Bolgar is considered the 'Northern Mecca' annually attracting pilgrims from all over the world. The book will help you learn about pre-Bulgarian history, the origins of Islam, the secret and peculiar places of the city and ancient mosques.

The Legend of Yusuf by Kul Gali

“The Legend of Yusuf” or “Kissa and Yusuf” can be dated way back to 1223. Its author was Kul Gali - the famous poet and founder of Bulgar-Tatar literature. Kul Gali based his poem on the Biblical-Quranic story of Yusuf (Joseph), one of the twelve sons of a nation's ruler, who survived the brutal betrayal of his brothers, but managed to maintain his generosity and forgiveness. A wonderful piece of reading that will plunge you into the life of the ancient Bulgar and remember the eternal values: goodness, tolerance, morality, love and friendship.

Chistopol Pages 

During the Great Patriotic War, many writers were evacuated to Chistopol. During this time, a large number of poems, short stories, novels and diaries had been accumulated that describe the difficult times and life of Soviet writers. In the book you will find memoirs of B. Pasternak, N. Aseev, M. Isakovsky, L. Leonov, K. Trenyov, K. Fedin, S. Shchipachev and others.

Routes

Popular among tourists

Find out the cost of tickets to Kazan
Discounts, bonuses and useful information
for visitors of Tatarstan
Download the Tourist Pass application for free

«Сказание о Йусуфе» и «Зулейха открывает глаза». Путеводитель по книгам о Татарстане

Часто во время путешествий мы не успеваем узнать и трети всей информации и побывать во всех местах. Исправить эту ситуацию можно с помощью книг — они помогут вам снова отправиться в увлекательное приключение не выходя из дома. Собрали для вас путеводители, романы и сборники, которые расскажут вам о том, как Татарстан и его жители переживали периоды упадка и расцвета.  

Автор — Анастасия Тищенко


     

«Город Брежнев». Шамиль Идиатуллин 

В романе автор описывает жизнь Набережных Челнов (тогда еще Брежнева) в начале 1980-х годов во времена Андропова, перестройки и очередного витка холодной войны. Главные герои книги — работник «КамАЗа», молодая учительница и восьмиклассник, каждый из которых по-своему переживает личные проблемы и переломный этап в развитии страны. По словам Шамиля Идиатуллина, книга задумывалась как дань памяти детству, городу и местным жителям.

«Зулейха открывает глаза». Гузель Яхина

В своём романе Гузель Яхина описывает судьбу крестьянки Зулейхи из татарской деревни и других переселенцев, которых в 1930 году отправили на каторгу в Сибирь. Автор книги родилась в Казани и прониклась темой судеб раскулаченных людей благодаря рассказам бабушки, которая тоже пережила сибирскую ссылку. Сам текст был создан на основе рассказов людей, побывавших в ссылке между 1930 и 1946 годами. В октябре 2018 года в Казани начались съёмки фильма по роману, а главную роль в нем сыграла Чулпан Хаматова — народная артистка России родом из Казани.

«Крутой маршрут». Евгения Гинзбург

Еще одна книга о нелёгкой жизни людей, переживших тюрьмы, лагеря и ссылки. В романе-автобиографии казанская журналистка Евгения Гинзбург рассказывает о 18 страшных временах заключения и жизни поколения казанской творческой интеллигенции в 1930-х годах. Из-за ссылки Евгении Гинзбург и её мужу пришлось оставить в Казани маленького сына — будущего писателя Василия Аксёнова, который жил в доме-коммуналке вместе с родственниками. Несколько лет назад это здание реконструировали и теперь в нём работает дом-музей семьи Аксёновых, который может посетить любой желающий.

«Дневники». Габдулла Тукай

Габдулла Тукай — народный поэт республики Татарстан, который оставил после себя богатое литературное наследство. Начать знакомство с творчеством поэта можно с популярных произведений «Родной язык», «Шурале», «О свободе», а узнать о его жизни предлагаем из «Дневника» самого автора. В малоизвестном документе собраны воспоминания, фотографии и дневниковые записи автора, а также испытания и переживания последних лет его жизни, которые раскрывают личность талантливого писателя.

«Канун восьмого дня». Ольга Ильина

Писательница и правнучка поэта Евгения Боратынского родилась в Казани, но в 1922 году была вынуждена эмигрировать в Харбин, а потом в Сан-Франциско, где выпустила автобиографический роман «Канун восьмого дня» (Dawn of the eighth day). В книге Ольга Ильина описывает переломные события начала XX века: Первую мировую войну, революции 1917 года и Гражданскую войну. Это первое произведение, опубликованное на русском языке в России по желанию самой поэтессы и переданное в музей Боратынского в Казани — там же вы сможете увидеть ее акварельный портрет и узнать больше о семье талантливых писателей.

«Мифология казанских татар». Каюм Насыри и Яков Коблов

Казань может удивить не только своими достопримечательностями и гостеприимством, но и богатым и своеобразным фольклором и мифологией. В исследованиях авторы описывают все мифологические существа, а также поверья и приметы, которые распространялись среди татар на протяжении столетий. Книга расскажет вам о Шурале и других загадочных персонажах, раскроет значение снов и популярных примет.

«Тайны Волжского Булгара». Юрий Супруненко

Именно в Булгарах зародилось Казанское ханство, где впервые на Руси добровольно приняли ислам — поэтому современный Булгар считается «Северной меккой» и ежегодно притягивает паломников со всего мира. Книга поможет вам узнать о добулгарской истории, истоках ислама, тайных и аномальных местах города и древних мечетях.

«Сказание о Йусуфе». Кул Гали

«Сказание о Йусуфе» или «Кысса-и Йусуф» появилось на свет в далеком 1223 году. Его автором стал Кул Гали — знаменитый поэт и основатель булгаро-татарской литературы. В основу своей поэмы Кул Гали положил библейско-коранический сюжет о Йусуфе (Иосифе) — одном из двенадцати сыновей главы народа, который пережил жестокое предательство братьев, но сумел сохранить в себе великодушие и милосердие. Прекрасное произведение поможет вам окунуться в жизнь древнего Булгара и вспомнить о вечных ценностях: добре, терпимости, нравственности, любви и дружбе.

«Чистопольские страницы»

В годы Великой Отечественной войны многих литераторов эвакуировали в Чистополь. За это время накопилось большое количество стихов, рассказов, повестей и дневников, которые описывали нелегкие времена и жизнь советских писателей. В книге вы найдете воспоминания Б. Пастернака, Н. Асеева, М. Исаковского, Л. Леонова, К. Тренева, К. Федина, С. Щипачева и других авторов.

«Чурики-мокурики острова Свияжск». Марина Разбежкина и Рашит Сафиуллин

Эта книга — результат творчества кинорежиссера Марины Разбежкиной и художника Рашита Сафиуллина. Вместе они собрали ценный материал о Свияжске 1970 — 1990-х годов. В книге собраны записи речи людей, живопись, рисунки, снимки и словарь, который описывает явления местной жизни. По словам Марины Разбежкиной, «чурики-мокурики — это такие обрывки речи и жизни, детали мозаики, из которой в итоге жизнь и составляется, и своеобразный свияжский “Фейсбук”». Книга двух талантливых авторов раскроет для вас нутристический, многолюдный Свияжск, где у каждого жителя найдутся необычные истории.

«Там, где цветет шиповник». Ольга Кузьмичева-Дробышевская

Книга на стыке жанров включает в себя исследования краеведов, интервью с местными жителями, авторские эссе и художественную прозу, которые позволят вам увидеть полный портрет Набережных Челнов начала 1970-х годов. Из неё вы узнаете, в каких условиях жили строители знаменитого «КамАЗа», что пришлось пережить местным жителям во время войн и репрессий и какие тайные истории хранит в себе город.

Маршруты

Популярные среди туристов

Узнайте стоимость билетов до Казани